The Drug Benefit Council

The Drug Benefit Council (DBC) is an independent advisory body that makes evidence-informed recommendations to the Ministry of Health about the listing of drugs on the PharmaCare program formulary.

The DBC is made up of 12 members: nine professional members with expertise in critical appraisal, medicine, ethics, pharmacy and health economics, and three public members. The Drug Review Resource Committee (DRRC), a subcommittee of the DBC, is made up of four (4) members from the DBC. The four members are Roger Barnsley, Robert Crossland, Peter Loewen and Carlo Marra.

For more information on sitting DBC members, visit the Drug Benefit Council membership page.

The Remuneration to Drug Benefit Council members for Fiscal 2011/2012 page provides information on fees paid to DBC members.

Drug Benefit Council Terms of Reference and Drug Benefit Review Process Conflict of Interest Guidelines

DBC members are held to the highest ethical standards when conducting reviews and making recommendations. Their activities are governed by the DBC’s Terms of Reference. All individuals involved in the Drug Benefit Review Process, including DBC members, are subject to the Drug Benefit Review Process Conflict of Interest Guidelines.